Carrots!!

carrots on tray

Hi Friends,

Dear hubby went to Costco the other day.  I think he went on an empty stomach. He brought home a large bag of organic carrots for our family of 4.  This bag probably had 40 huge carrots inside!  So funny!  So we have used them in a pot roast, eaten them raw and some will go in a chicken and veggie soup I’m planning.  The trouble is we still have close to 30 left.  And yet, it has helped me to be creative.

I decided 2 days ago that I am going to eliminate refined sugar and some natural sugars (from juice and dried fruit) from my diet (because of weight and pain issues).  That got me to thinking of different food choices for snacks.  It hit me that I should try to make carrot chips (or shavings)!  I found a recipe and then adapted it.  Here is my recipe:

carrots dried - chips

CARROT SNACK:

Ingredients:

  • 3 carrots, shaved into thin peels with a vegetable peeler
  • ½ – 1 tablespoon melted coconut oil (enough to lightly coat)
  • 2 – 3 pinches of fine sea salt

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  • Combine all ingredients and toss.
  • Arrange carrot shavings in a single layer on baking sheet lined with tin foil.

Bake for 12 minutes @ 425F, checking every few minutes and tossing if needed (they can burn easily).  If not yet crispy, turn oven down to 300F and bake for another 5 to 15 minutes.  Keep checking until desired crispness is achieved.

Enjoy!  I really like them and have made them twice since yesterday.

anne_of_green_gables-sitting on suitcase

The word ‘carrots’ also got me to thinking about ‘Anne of Green Gables’.  Do you know the story?  If so, you know exactly what I’m talking about.  🙂 If not you definitely need to read the book by L.M. Montgomery or watch the miniseries from Sullivan Entertainment (with Megan Follows as Anne)!  It is a wonderful, heart warming story that we have watched over and over since the kids were little.  Our whole family enjoys it.

Word of advice on the miniseries:  ‘Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel’ is also excellent, but ‘Anne of Green Gables:  The Continuing Story’ is awful and does not follow the books at all.

Do you have a favorite carrot recipe (or healthy snack recipe) or favorite Anne of Green Gables scene?  If so, please share!

Joyfully,

Jackie

carrots sign frame

20 thoughts on “Carrots!!

  1. Have you tried roasting them with parsnips and onions with a sprinkling of salt and rosemary and a dash of olive oil? So yummy.

    Coleslaw and sunshine salad are also great ways to use them up.

    Of course there are also carrot muffins and cake, but that might not work out too well with cutting down on sugar.

    I hate to say it, but a few years ago I taught myself to stress eat carrots instead of other things. I figured if I was going to overindulge I was going to make it something healthy. On a bad week I could probably eat through that bag in a few days. ( I thought I would give you a good laugh ……don’t even ask about my cherry tomato obsession!)

  2. Unfortunately mine isn’t for diets! Tee hee but I have a great carrot cake recipe! Hugz! I shall have to read or watch Anne of Green Gables as I never have!

  3. Oven roasted carrots (tossed with a little olive oil and salt) is one of my family’s favorite carrot things. My husband’s family taught me about sauteing them in a pan with sesame oil and soy sauce with chopped roasted pecans. Most yummy!

  4. My favorite parts in Anne of Green Gables are her big blunders – dying her hair, and hitting Gilbert over the head with her slate. She’s a go-big-or-go-home type of girl. Also the books are awesome. Really wish they had stuck to the stories for the third one.

  5. Ok, now I have to read the Anne of Green Gables series, you have convinced me to get off the fence on that one. Carrots. besides raw or in soup, we eat them cooked in brown sugar, not too healthy, but I will be trying your oven thing. We have three pails in the basement from the garden and I need to make them up before they go bad.

Leave a Reply

