Please Bear With Me

x

Hi Friends!

Today I am highlighting the bears we saw at the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center this summer with my sis and niece.  (See original post.)  Let me tell you, these grizzlies are very impressive.  I’ve only seen a couple in the wild and, thankfully, they were a good distance away.   I hope you enjoy the photos.

We actually had a black bear visit us in the neighborhood one time.  (And we’ve had “evidence” of two other visits, but didn’t see the bears on those occasions.)  It was on a quiet afternoon while I was doing something in the house and my hubby was working in the garage.  All of a sudden we hear some yelling and it’s our neighbors, who had been on a walk, rushing by to say that there was a bear coming down the street (“hide your women and children!” kind of thing).  We stayed inside and watched from the window.  Sure enough the bear was walking down the middle of the street right in front of our yard then took a right turn and loped over the neighbors fence.   Wow.  Speechless.  And of course it happened so fast I didn’t get a picture of it (this was before the days of awesome cell phone cameras.)

Needless to say, we tend to watch our backs when we are out on a walk, or biking and hiking.

Blessings on your day!  And thanks for “bearing” with me.  😉

Joyfully,

Jackie

Alaska Bucket List

y

z

w

This was taken on another occasion at the AWCC.

bear sign close up

katie keaton bear bench

This photo was from 2 summers ago, but I thought it was fitting. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Please Bear With Me

  1. Last summer we were at our cabin when a bear walked right in front of our porch where we were playing scrabble. It was one of the best days of my life – being that close to a real live bear! We weren’t in danger as our porch was up off the ground, and we were right by the door. He took a bath in our stock tank and casually walked away. I can’t imagine seeing one walk down the street! Thanks for sharing your photos.

  2. Hey Jackie! I’m sure those bears were something to see and something you won’t forget! I enjoy all of your pictures. Here’s
    a dumb question: Are the grizzlies the one’s that are the tallest?

  3. I used to live in a really remote area where there were woods and trails behind the house. In the summers, I would get home from work and hit the trails with my keys to frighten away bears. Once during my hike I was almost on top of a teenage bear foraging. I was rather upset because I could not finish my hike, but wisely backed out of the area and then jangled my keys once I was a ways off. They’re such beautiful creatures but also so lethal. One grizzly ripped apart an entire car just to get at a chocolate bar wrapper that was inside the car that it could smell from afar.

Leave a Reply

