A Goodbye I Will Always Remember…

Hi Friends,

I’ll never forget the time I flew down to California from Alaska to visit my Grandma {Dora} whose health was failing fast due to a disease that had been diagnosed only a few short months previous.

She was one of my very best friends {we were two sassy peas in a pod} and I grew up getting to see her all the time {until 8th grade} since we lived in the same city during those childhood years.

This trip back I was in my mid 20s. I spent the week with Grandma & Grandpa and during that time Grandma was released from the hospital to come back home for the last time. We spent so many precious moments together that week. I remember one of those special moments when she told me right there at her kitchen table, the one where we had celebrated so many wonderful holidays at, that I was one of her shining stars.  Loving words I will never forget.  I in turn told her how much I loved her and how she had made such a huge impact on all our lives, showing her family the way to Jesus.

Later, after Grandma’s passing, Grandpa and Aunt Mary decided to give me her wedding ring. I was so surprised and honored. I looked at the ring carefully and noticed there were tiny little stars etched in that cherished golden band.  Thank you, Lord, for such a precious gift. Yes, the ring, but much more importantly the gift of loving Grandparents.

Of course the day came when I had to say goodbye {one final time}. Before I left for the airport she grabbed some apricot preserves out of her freezer to give to me. They were from her own tree; made by her own hands. Fresh apricots are still my favorite fruit and I tried to keep that jar for as long as I could. I will always remember Grandma standing on the front porch waving goodbye, like I’d seen her do a million times before. I can see her still, standing there being brave for me and waving until Grandpa {or was it Uncle Mark} and I were out of sight.

I will never forget that goodbye and I am looking forward to the reunion we will have again some day.

>>>

As I reflect back on that time again, there are three main ways that I want to follow in Grandma’s footsteps:

  1. Make sure others, and especially my family, know the beautiful grace and love found only in Jesus.
  2. Make sure I speak loving, meaningful words to my loved ones {& those around me.}
  3. Give of myself and the things my hands have made to others.

Blessings on you and your loved ones,

Jackie

grandmab

10 thoughts on “A Goodbye I Will Always Remember…

  1. What a special relationship you had with your grandma. Very sweet memories you have until you meet with her again. I am sure she is still watching over her shining star.

  2. It sounds like the two of you had a very special bond. I, too, had a wonderful grandmothers and I know how lucky I was to have them with me for so long (one for 48 years, the other for 53 years). I hope I can get as much wisdom from them as you have gotten from yours.

Leave a Reply

