Embracing “Older”

Jackie - toddler

Yours truly before I was older. 🙂

Hi Friends!

Tomorrow is my birthday and I will be older than today, but isn’t that true of us every day?  🙂

I turned 50 a couple of years ago and I don’t remember it really bothering me.   I don’t really feel a certain age, do you?  And I’ve learned to count my blessings and not worry about what I cannot change.  So here are some of the reasons why I am embracing “older”:

  • I truly feel blessed with all that God has done for me and given me.  ME.  I don’t deserve anything and yet God has given me life, breath, health, a loving family.  He’s restored my marriage, redeemed my life for all of eternity through Jesus, the Messiah, and He has promised to never leave me or forsake me.   Knowing all this, I am grateful and able to embrace “older.”
  • As an older person I am also able to worry much less about what other’s think of me.
  • As an older person I am wiser, more grateful to God and more empathetic to others because of what I have been through and the help and healing I have received.
  • As an older person I don’t sweat the small stuff.
  • As an older person I am a better spouse; worrying much less about what I am getting from the relationship and concentrating more on finding ways to be a blessing to my husband.
  • As an older person I am enjoying a more mature relationship with my children.
  • As an older person I am able to befriend and perhaps mentor younger people that need a wiser, more mature, loving, encouraging friend.
  • As an older person I can crochet to my hearts content, if I choose to.  🙂

Yes, I feel very blessed to be another year {or another day} older.

Joyfully,

Jackie

Carl & Jax dating 1

Us in the dating stage.

Carl & Jax 1999 1

Us 14 years ago.

Carl & Jax 2013 1

Us this summer.

A_Mouse_Blessing

Yes, please! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Embracing “Older”

Leave a Reply

