Crochet Coaster with a Second Job

Hi Friends,

Sometimes I play around with my yarn leftovers (or new yarn in a fun color) and make coasters. Here’s one I recently made that I like the look of. And as I was making coasters one time, I came up with the idea to give them a second job. You know how everybody gets out a glass, gets a drink of water, then puts the glass in the sink {instead of using it again the next time they need a drink that day}?Β  Well, I decided that I was tired of that so I made 4 different coasters for the 4 people in our family and then put them side by side on the counter against the wall and next to the kitchen sink. Now when one of us gets out a clean glass or mug to get a drink, we put it on our coaster when we’re done drinking to use again later that day.Β  And the nice thing is that not one of our coasters has ever complained about working 2 jobs! πŸ˜‰

What do you like to make with your yarn leftovers?

Blessings & Happy Friday!
Jackie

crochet coaster blue & green 1

Linking up with:

image
tatertots - jello button
blog link - Thursday

pitypartybutton1

15 thoughts on “Crochet Coaster with a Second Job

  1. I love that coaster idea. I have made some hot pads with left over yarn, but I need to finish them off because they are all stuck in a bag doing nothing right now. Thanks for the reminder. I will have to dig them out this week and put them to use.

  2. That’s a lovely idea ~ you could co-ordinate them with all sorts of things such as decor, people’s preferred colours etc. Hmmm I might have to give that a go.

    Do you use a specific type of yarn?? Cotton based yarn maybe, or just a regular woollen based yarn….?? I thought that the yarn in the photo looked like a cotton mix…..Do they wash well [to allow for messy drinkers πŸ˜† ] ?

    So glad to have found this blog.

    Blessings

    Sharon xx

  3. Cute. Do your kids actually follow through? I bought colored cups for this same reason and I still find more than 5 cups out a day (the troubles of moms everywhere;)

Leave a Reply

